The four seasons in Spanish

The four seasons in Spanish. Visit

One of the four seasons in Spanish is feminine. Can you tell which one?

Here is the answer: 

La primavera: spring. 

The other seasons are masculine:

El verano: summer.

El otoño: fall/autumn.

El invierno: winter.

Days and months are masculine. Check out the nouns chapter to learn the general rules of noun gender.

The definite article is widely used with the seasons. It can be omitted sometimes, but it has to be used when there is an adjective or a complement of the noun:

Me gusta el verano.                                     I like summer.

Juan va a venir en (el) otoño.                       Juan will come in fall.

En (el) invierno hace mucho frío.                  It’s very cold in winter.

El invierno pasado hizo mucho frío.              Last winter was very cold.

El próximo verano será caluroso.                  Next summer will be hot.

The indefinite article or a demonstrative can be used to refer to a certain period:

Ha sido un invierno lluvioso.                          It’s been a rainy winter.

Esta primavera es calurosa.                           This spring is being hot.

The seasons can be plural. This is more usual in Spanish than in English:

Odio los inviernos lluviosos.                         I hate rainy winters.

Tweet any doubt! 

Subscribe to So easy Spanish!

Enter your email address: